Science

 

The Hutt International Boys’ School Science department aims to promote and to develop an on-going interest in Science. We offer a range of courses that will inspire the students to excel and further their education in the scientific vocation of their choice. The staff of the department aim to teach  in such a way that  Science can be understood rather than simply learnt.

Understanding science is vital to understanding the world around us, so we endeavour to encourage the curiosity of the students. To do this, experimental work is central - carrying out investigations, gathering evidence, testing hypotheses – in order to develop scientific comprehension, skill and expertise.

Our students are encouraged to participate in external competitions such as the Australian Science  Competition, Science fairs, Chemistry quiz, and a number have participated in the various University summer schools and Rotary Science and Technology Forum.  Back in 2006 nine Year 9 students won a 12 inch Meade reflector telescope during the NASA Connect Competition.  HIBS opened its very own Observatory at the end of 2011 to house this telescope.

Field trips are also part of the Science Department philosophy by getting the students into the ‘real’ world and opening their eyes to a number of different options. Field trips can demonstrate how Science is relevant to understanding technology and then relating these concepts to society. 

 

Level 1 Science - Google Site

Contact Staff

Brenda MacKechnie
Head Of Department
bmackechnie@hibs.school.nz

Tricia Benson
tbenson@hibs.school.nz

Stuart Waring
swaring@hibs.school.nz

William McGeechan
wmcgeechan@hibs.school.nz

Kent Lawton 
klawton@hibs.school.nz

Reta Snelling 
rsnelling@hibs.school.nz

Paul Falloon 
pfalloon@hibs.school.nz

Karen Anderson 
Lab Technician
kanderson@hibs.school.nz

Biology
Chemistry
Junior Science